Behind a Frowning Providence

I find great comfort in the doctrine of God’s providence. And I love the way the Heidelberg Catechism defines it in Q&A #27:

Q. What do you understand by the providence of God?

A. Providence is the almighty and ever present power of God by which He upholds, as with his Hand, heaven and earth and all creatures and so rules them that leaf and blade, rain and drought, fruitful and lean years, food and drink, health and sickness, prosperity and poverty — all things, in fact, come to us not by chance but from His fatherly hand. 

But I am not always as moved by the catechism as I am song. This is why I appreciate artists like William Cowper (1731-1800). Indeed, the mystery and comfort of God’s providence should be sung. To help us sing, here are the words to Cowper’s “God Moves in a Mysterious Way”:

God moves in a mysterious way
His wonders to perform;
He plants His footsteps in the sea,
And rides upon the storm.
 

Deep in unfathomable mines
Of never failing skill,
He treasures up His bright designs,
And works His sovereign will.

Ye fearful saints, fresh courage take;
The clouds ye so much dread,
Are big with mercy and shall break
In blessings on your head.

Judge not the Lord by feeble sense,
But trust Him for His grace;
Behind a frowning providence,
He hides a smiling face.

His purposes will ripen fast,
Unfolding every hour;
The bud may have a bitter taste,
But sweet will be the flower.

Blind unbelief is sure to err
And scan His work in vain;
God is His own interpreter,
And He will make it plain.

This entry was posted in Church History, Living and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Behind a Frowning Providence

  1. prada outlet says:

    Set the microwave to High and set the timer for 3 minutes, and
    turn on. Paper lunch bags – Votive candles – Sand – Extra-long matches or handheld barbeque lighter – Count the number of outdoor luminaries needed.
    You would like to show up at the party with some brand new bags with the perfect feel and weight so that all of your
    buddies know you are serious this year; you aren’t going to lose one more cornhole tournament.

  2. Francine says:

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying
    to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use
    some of your ideas!!

  3. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll
    be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

