Him We Proclaim

I have the privilege of helping facilitate the installation of a new pastor in Whatcom County this coming Sunday. Sudden Valley Community Church, I believe, is blessed to have Gabriel Powell and his family relocating from the Los Angeles area to minister among them. And I am deeply encouraged to have another co-laborer of kindred spirit in the Bellingham area.

For my part, I’ve been asked to give a charge to the pastor. The text I have chosen is Colossians 1:28-29:

Him we proclaim, warning everyone and teaching everyone with all wisdom, that we may present everyone mature in Christ. For this I toil, struggling with all his energy that he powerfully works within me.

The Apostle Paul had just written that Jesus Christ is “the hope of glory” (v. 27). This is why we proclaim Him. Our hope for our own salvation and that of the people we have the privilege of pastoring, is Christ. Therefore we proclaim Him.

But I am eager to remind myself this week in preparation, and Pastor Gabe and SVCC on Sunday, that this proclamation–this toil and struggle for people’s salvation–is not done in our own strength, but in the strength of the Lord. Indeed, what He calls us to, He equips us for. “For this I toil, struggling with all his energy that he powerfully works within me.” The very energy of God is both our strength and hope in pastoral ministry.

Please join me in prayer this week for the Powell family and their new church family, Sudden Valley Community Church. Lord willing, this coming weekend will mark a powerful new season of gospel ministry in Sudden Valley, Whatcom County, and beyond.

This entry was posted in Church, Gospel, Ministry, Pastorate, Preaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Him We Proclaim

  1. page says:

    […] Him We Proclaim | Permanent Things […]

Leave a Reply

