Where are you standing today?

Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God.  –Romans 5:1-2

At Bible study this morning at Immanuel we took up, among other verses, Romans 5:1-2. The apostle Paul, in two breathtaking verses, reminds us of the comprehensive scope of our salvation in Christ. We see salvation’s past dimension (justified before God with sins forgiven), present dimension (peace with God and standing in grace), and future dimension (hope in the glory of God). I love the efficiency of Paul’s prose!

I was particularly moved this morning by Paul’s words about our present standing before God, namely, in grace. Think about it: the Christian is one who stands in the unmerited favor of almighty God — always.

Wherever I go today, I will be standing in grace. Whatever trial comes my way today, I will meet it standing in grace. Whoever I come in contact with today, I will greet from a standpoint of grace.

Why is this such good news?

All the resources of heaven are at my disposal today. God has not left me deficient or ill-equipped in any way to walk in the path He has ordained for me. So I will sing even as I serve, “His grace is sufficient for me, for His power is made perfect in my weakness” (Cf., 2 Corinthians 12:9).

This entry was posted in God, Gospel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

