Introducing Team Julia

[The following post is from my wife Julia. So grateful for her!]

***

I am thrilled to introduce to you Team Julia – a 501(c)(3) public charity on a mission to eradicate breast cancer and bring financial assistance to families in the struggle against cancer of any kind. As one in the battle myself, this mission is very personal.

Three years ago, at the age of 38, I was diagnosed with stage IV breast cancer. This news changed forever my life and the lives of my husband and four young children. The road we’ve traveled has been hard, filled with surgeries and blood tests, MRI and CT scans, anxious moments and lots of chemotherapy. But it’s also been a road filled with countless blessings. Not only have my tumors been “stabilized or decreasing” for the majority of my treatment, we’ve experienced acts of kindness and generosity from family, friends, and strangers that would require a book-length accounting. There’s a verse in the Bible that speaks to how the Lord’s mercies are new every morning. This rings true to me now more than ever before in my life.

Team Julia is inspired by the incredible medical care and benevolence my family and I have received since my diagnosis. Dr. Samdani at the Virginia Cancer Institute, Dr. Salazar at the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, and Dr. Rubin at PeaceHealth in Bellingham, Washington are among the amazing doctors and nurses that have inspired in me a belief that we truly can find a cure for breast cancer. We have the talent and dedication. Let’s get more funds directed toward the best research. And the servant-army of people who have helped us over the last three years through the giving of their time and monetary gifts has inspired in me a longing to do likewise. The financial burden of fighting cancer can be overwhelming. And the needs far outweigh the charitable means available. Let’s get immediate help to families battling cancer. This is one burden we can lift – now.

I am determined to not let cancer have the final word in my life. Team Julia is one means to this end. Together we really can make a difference.

With you in the fight,

   Julia

P.S. As Team Julia continues to be formed, you can join the Team by following us on Facebook, Twitter, and Google+. We will keep you informed on ways to contribute and participate in events we’re planning. These are exciting times in the fight against cancer!

This entry was posted in Living, Ministry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing Team Julia

  1. Pingback: Check out | HeadHeartHand Blog

  2. Love you, Julia. You are one strong lady and always in my prayers and thoughts. How good of God to bring you to us. The team is a great thing.

  3. SusannaGrace says:

    I am wearing one of your shirts, sister-girl. SusannaGrace

  4. BettinaFerraro says:

    Julia, you are my hero in every sense of the word!

Leave a Reply

