The Greatest Declaration of Independence Imaginable

A year later, I still believe the gospel is the greatest declaration of independence imaginable. Happy 4th!

Permanent Things

So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed in him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”
John 8:31-32

Like millions of Americans this week, my mind is on the Fourth of July holiday and what it represents: our freedom as a nation. This freedom is a precious thing, bought with the sweat, toil, and blood of countless Americans who initially fought to obtain it, as well as those who have fought to secure it in the centuries since that fateful day in 1776.

But even as I prize my freedom as an American, I am moved to consider a greater freedom, namely, my freedom in Christ. “If you abide in my word,” our Lord declares, “you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free” (John 8:31-32).

View original post 296 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Greatest Declaration of Independence Imaginable

  1. mardorbar says:

    How good it is to be truly free!

Leave a Reply

