Back to School and the School of Christ

lockersLike many parents this time of year, I’m getting my kids ready for their return to school. It’s a bit daunting to think I’ll have a first, sixth, eighth, and ninth grader in school beginning September 2nd. A season of parenthood like this has me much on my knees in prayer. So what am I praying for my children as they go back to school? The same things Julia and I prayed about last year at this time. Here’s a sample:

  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael would not be conformed to this world, but transformed by the renewing of their minds (Rom. 12:1-2).
  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael would continue to grow in the grace and knowledge of their Lord and Savior Jesus Christ (2 Pet. 3:18).
  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael would come to realize still more deeply that the steadfast love of the Lord is better than life (Ps. 63:3).
  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael would seek not the applause of man, but rejoice in the applause of God in Christ (Rom. 2:29).
  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael would shine like lights in the world as they hold fast to the word of life in the halls of Geneva Elementary, Kulshan Middle School, and Bellingham High (Phil. 2:15-16).
  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael would learn more what it means to weep for the enemies of the cross of Christ — that their love for the lost will be deepened (Phil. 3:18; Matt. 9:36).
  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael will be quicker to consider others more important than themselves as they look to the example of Christ (Phil. 2:1-11).
  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael would grow in their love for their local church as they see the beauty of Christ-centered community against the backdrop of a fallen world (Eph. 4:1-16).
  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael will learn more of what it means to abide in Christ and walk in step with the Spirit while putting to death the deeds of the flesh (John 15:4; Gal. 5:25; Rom. 8:13).
  • I’m praying that Samuel, Anna, John, and Michael would do everything, including math and social studies and science and literature and lunch and recess, to the glory of God (1 Cor. 10:31).

And even as I pray these things for my children I’m praying this for myself:

Father in heaven, grant me immeasurable wisdom, love, and patience for my children as I seek to point them to Christ as their all-sufficient Savior and Lord. And when I fail, please remind me by Your Spirit that my hope is not in my perfect parenthood, but in my perfect God who is sovereign over all. In the matchless name of Jesus and for His name’s sake. Amen.

As our children go back to school may God be pleased to keep us all in the school of Christ, learning to follow Him all our days until we graduate to glory.

***

[photo credit: candrews via photopin cc]

This entry was posted in God, Gospel, Jesus Christ, Living. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

